Subway in a mall……

 

No, No I am not talking about the underground subway in a mall but the real deal a crisp, fresh subway sandwich. Like any other day I just felt like I should pay a visit to the mall cause I needed some stationary (And this time I mean stationary like pens and stuff).you know what all I needed was an excuse to raid the mall.

I dragged my mom and sis too with me and then did a bit of non stationary shopping.  Soon the shopping made me hungry and being on a diet,(read my post on-tumultuous relationship with weight..),I thought what better than a low cal sub sandwich and a non-sugar coffee? I did get my sub sandwich with nice juicy seekh kebabs and sweet onion sauce but the coffee was missing, so I headed to the food court, that’s when it happened, the heavily mustached security guy handed me a stern “NO” as I was trying to smuggle some outside food. OUTSIDE FOOD? REALLY? how can that be? it was right in the middle of their premises just outside their plush glass interiors? what is with these uptown places and their ridiculous rules, right from the security to petty stuff like carrying a bisleri bottle on you?

I din’t know what to do? I was stuck, couldn’t comprehend the thought of having a sandwich without a hot cuppa coffee, but what could I do? They wouldn’t let me into their eating lounge with my smuggled goods.

It struck me then. I din’t have to be in a place where I was not welcome, so I took my not so enthusiastic mom and sis to my car. I said nothing but drove them to the closest roadside tea stall which was under a banyan tree. I could never  imagine myself there, I don’t know but I guess the stupid mall with its stupid rules drove me to do this.

My family was aghast at my intentions of having THAT tea and sandwich in my car .Only when I told them that they won’t have to drink in his glasses and that I had disposable glasses in my car did they agree to be my partner in crime.

The fullbodied extra cooked tea tasted different and good on the palate that was used to the no milk no sugar tea. It was a pleasant surprise to see everyone enjoying their sandwiches under the banyan tree.

We often forget the simple pleasures of life, like sipping a cuppa tea. Stepping out of the cubicle for some fresh air, smiling at a stranger who seems lost and…….I hope we all continue to look for these simple  breaks in our complex life and lifestyle that allows only restricted movement.

I thank God we din’t  have the “Subway in the mall”……………

2 thoughts on “Subway in a mall……

  1. nice post, i like the way thinking. we miss the fresh air in office cubicles. now days in Mumbai we have many restricted resto-bar like sub-way…

Leave a comment